The South Dakota Legislature is a bicameral legislature, meeting for regular 40 day session in odd numbered years, and a 35 day session in even numbered years. The South Dakota Legislature consists of an upper chamber, the Senate, and a lower chamber, the House of Representatives. The 35 member South Dakota Senate is currently controlled by the Republicans, holding 29 seats, with the Senate Democrats holding 6 seats. In the 70 member South Dakota House, Republicans hold 60 seats, and the Democrats hold 10 seats. Dennis Daugaard serves as the 32rd Governor of South Dakota, he is a member of the Republican Party. 2017 marks the 92nd South Dakota Legislative Session.

Statehill South Dakota offers a user friendly, secure alternative to easily track bills, view detailed legislation and legislator stats, collaborate and share updates with your team or stakeholders, and take it with you on the go. Statehill collects, organizes, and analyzes South Dakota legislative information to provide users with the resources needed to effectively monitor, understand, and act on information faster.

The information used on Statehill is collected from open source data published through the South Dakota Legislature Legislative Research Council Website and complemented with our own data analysis.

Our goal is to promote transparency and participation, as well as increase productivity and advocacy effectiveness for those interacting with politics on a daily basis. We strive to build a product that is accessible, borderless, and simple to use, yet powerful.

Statehill—the smart, simple platform to manage legislative affairs.