The Louisiana Legislature is a bicameral legislature, meeting annually in even numbered years for no longer than 60 legislative days in a period of 85 days, and in odd numbered years for no longer than 45 legislative days in a period of 60 days. The Louisiana legislature convenes in March and April, respectfully. The Louisiana Legislature consists of an upper chamber, the Senate, and a lower chamber, the House of Representatives. The 39 member Louisiana Senate is currently controlled by the Republicans, holding 25 seats, with the Senate Democrats holding 14 seats. In the 105 member Louisiana House of Representatives, Republicans hold 60 seats, and the Democrats hold 41 seats. Independents maintain 3 seats. One House seat is vacant. John Bell Edwards serves as the 56th Governor of Louisiana, he is a member of the Democratic Party.

Statehill Louisiana is a user friendly, secure alternative to easily track bills, view detailed legislation and legislator stats, collaborate and share updates with your team or stakeholders, and take it with you on the go. Statehill collects, organizes, and analyzes Louisiana legislative information to provide users with the resources needed to effectively monitor, understand, and act on information faster.

The information used on Statehill is collected from open source data published through the Louisiana Legislature Website and complemented with our own data analysis.

Our goal is to promote transparency and participation, as well as increase productivity and advocacy effectiveness for those interacting with politics on a daily basis. Statehill offers a new way to work and engage with legislative processes through automation, time savings, data, and access. We strive to build a product that is accessible, borderless, and simple to use, yet powerful.

Statehill—connecting legislative data around the world.