The Alabama Legislature is a bicameral legislature, meeting for regular annual sessions lasting no more than 30 days within a period of 105 calendar days. Regular sessions convene on the first Tuesday in March on the first year of the four year term, the first Tuesday In February for the 2nd and 3rd years of the term, and the second Tuesday in January in the last year of the four year term. The Alabama Legislature consists of an upper chamber, the Senate, and a lower chamber, the House of Representatives. The 35 member Alabama Senate is currently controlled by the Republicans, holding 26 seats, with the Senate Democrats holding 8 seats. The Alabama Senate also includes one Independent. In the 105 member Alabama House of Representatives, Republicans hold 72 seats, and the Democrats hold 33 seats. Kay Ivey serves as the 54th Governor of Alabama, she is a member of the Republican Party.

Statehill Alabama offers a user friendly, secure alternative to easily track bills, view detailed legislation and legislator stats, collaborate and share updates with your team or stakeholders, and take it with you on the go. Statehill collects, organizes, and analyzes Alabama legislative information to provide users with the resources needed to effectively monitor, understand, and act on information faster.

The information used on Statehill is collected from open source data published through the Alabama Legislative Information Service On-Line (ALISON) and complemented with our own data analysis.

Our goal is to promote transparency and participation, as well as increase productivity and advocacy effectiveness for those interacting with politics on a daily basis. We strive to build a product that is accessible, borderless, and simple to use, yet powerful.

Statehill—the smart, simple platform to manage legislative affairs.