The European Parliament is the directly elected parliamentary institution of the European Union, conducting the legislative function of the European Union. The European Parliament is composed of 751 members, making it the second largest democratic electorate in the world. The European Parliament meets annually with whole sessions of parliament taking place in Brussels, Belgium and Strasbourg, France.

The 751 member European Parliament consists of nine political groups, each comprised of different sub-parties and nations. The two largest groups are the European People’s Party (EPP) with 216 Members of Parliament (MEP) and the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats (S&D) with 188 MEP’s. The European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) currently represent 72 seats, while the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) control 68 seats. Minority political groups include the European United Left-Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL) with 52 MEP’s, the Green-European Free Alliance (Greens-EFA) with 51 MEP’s, the Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy (EFD) with 42 MEP’s, the Europe of Nations and Freedom (ENF) with 39 MEP’s, and lastly the Non-Inscrits, who do not sit in any of the recognized political groups with 18 seats. Additionally there are five currently vacant seats.

The European Parliament is currently in it’s eighth session, beginning in 2014 and lasting through the 2019 elections. Elections to the European Parliament are held every five years with representation of each state based upon population. Currently the national apportionment of MEP seats includes Germany (96), France (74), Italy (73), United Kingdom (73), Spain (54), Poland (51), Romania (32), Netherlands (26), Belgium (21), Czech Republic (21), and the remaining 230 seats spread amongst 18 nations. Antonio Tajani, a member of the majority European People’s Party, from Italy, serves as the President of the European Parliament.

Statehill European Parliament offers a user friendly, secure alternative to easily track bills, view detailed legislation and legislator stats, collaborate and share updates with your team or stakeholders, and take it with you on the go. Statehill collects, organizes, and analyzes European Parliament legislative information to provide users with the resources needed to effectively monitor, understand, and act on information faster.

The information used on Statehill is collected from open source data published through official European Parliament websites and complemented with our own data analysis. Our goal is to promote transparency and participation, as well as increase productivity and advocacy effectiveness for those interacting with politics on a daily basis. We strive to build a product that is accessible, borderless, and simple to use, yet powerful.